Second-Term Trump Will Care Even Less About Covid-19

I care about who is President because I don’t want hundreds of thousands of people to die

Andy Slavitt
Medium Coronavirus Blog

--

Photo by History in HD on Unsplash

If Trump wins reelection I don’t see a path towards ending the pandemic here in the U.S. without continual ongoing damage.

Let me take the politics off the table. I care a lot less about who becomes president than hundreds of thousands of people dying. I care about who is president because I don’t want hundreds of thousands of people to die.

I will also add that I do not plan to serve in a new Biden administration. I certainly want the very best people in the key health care jobs and I’m confident that would happen in a Biden administration. But that is not what motivates me.

So let me tell you here’s why I think we will be in bad shape should Trump get reelected.

  1. THE SILVER BULLET. Trump’s entire strategy is a vaccine which, in his mind, ends this thing. And that’s a problem for a few reasons: The bar for a a vaccine is 50% improvement and likely temporary. It is part of a strategy. Not A strategy. A vaccine needs to be developed that is safe, effective, and trusted. Trump’s meddling with the FDA and Hahn’s willingness has eroded trust significantly. For every 10% of the population that doesn’t take a…

--

--