Coronavirus

How I Feel After Receiving the Covid Vaccine and One Issue to Consider

It’s more than a sore shoulder

Bo Stapler, MD
Medium Coronavirus Blog
3 min readDec 17, 2020

--

My mostly de-identified vaccine record card

I can’t believe the day came this soon. This is not hyperbole: It was a joyful experience to receive this vaccine. There was a buzz and excitement at the hospital. Camera crews descended. Local media reporters interviewed hospital administrators and providers. Even the governor showed up. Why? Because this marks the beginning of the end.

As I waited in line with my colleagues on Tuesday, we shared a feeling that didn’t need to be verbalized, though it often was — the mutual understanding that it was an absolute privilege to receive this vaccine. I can’t express enough how thankful I am for the scientists who developed this, the patients who participated in the clinical trials, the suppliers, the distributors, the administrators, the organizers, the nurses, even the lab mice, even the leaders in our government who made this possible.

Two days later I feel great. No symptoms. My sore shoulder is back to normal. Here’s the thing to consider, though. Not everyone is going to have just a sore shoulder.

The latest reports estimate 100 million people could be vaccinated in the U.S. by March. That’s over 2,300 times more than the 43,448 individuals who received…

--

--

Bo Stapler, MD
Medium Coronavirus Blog

Health & science writer on Elemental & other pubs. Hospitalist physician in internal medicine & pediatrics. Interpreter of medical jargon. bostapler.medium.com