15 Reasons Why I Will Get a Covid-19 Vaccine

And why I hope you will, too

Andy Slavitt
Medium Coronavirus Blog

--

Photo: Daniel Schludi/Unsplash

Have you been enjoying Andy Slavitt’s coronavirus updates? He’ll be discussing the future of the pandemic with Elemental editor-in-chief Sarah Collins on December 8th at 4pm ET. Visit this link to register for this (free!) event.

By December 13 or soon after, vaccines for Covid-19 will likely be ready to roll out. Tens of millions will be ready to go, month by month. First to health care workers, then to nursing homes, then to other high-risk populations.

There are milestones to get there and data to review, but preparations are underway. I recently talked with scientists and distributors. There is an impressive level of preparation to make all the logistics happen.

But the vaccines’ effectiveness isn’t dependent on the scientists alone. It’s also dependent on us. So, what should we do and why? Here’s why I am going to get vaccinated.

  1. I’m going to take the vaccine for other people: pregnant women, younger kids, and the 7% of adults (immunocompromised) who won’t be able to take a vaccine early. If I don’t take it, I’m endangering them. They are counting on us or they are in real danger.
  2. Tens of thousands of brave, healthy people around the world agreed to participate in these clinical trials…

--

--